Summer: Dogs and Companionship

File2158

Summer Time: No matter how bad my day is going both of playing with my dogs puts a smile on my face. Above is a picture of my dogs Pebbles. She is 12 years old and I have had her since she was only 6 weeks old where I adopted her at the pound. She is my oldest “child,” and I love spending as much time as I can with her. I also have a pure bred black Labrador named Pepper who is almost 7 years old. My dogs are great therapy whether I have had a bad day, my kids are scared of the dark (and need a bed buddy), or just feel lonely. Both of my dogs love to swim, whether it be a lake, ocean, or even a swimming pool. I have many stories where my dogs were not supposed to but jumped into a body of water (usually a lake chasing ducks, ocean chasing sea gulls, or trying to eat the splashes my kids make in a swimming pool.) Its hard to accept that my dogs are getting older and I know the day will come where they will cross the rainbow bridge, but until then we continue to allow them to have the freedom and fun they desire as long as sweet loving companions for my 3 boys, husband, and myself.

Leave a Reply

